top of page
  • Writer's pictureRuby Bayley-Pratt

Am I Too Much?

Updated: Nov 17, 2020

"The physicality is definitely part of it and I think because you see it everywhere and it's so pervasive, it's everywhere and it's not even as simple as a man coming out and saying that a woman should be short, it's like everything that you see on media when you are a child, everything that you see on the television, everything that you read, like, women are supposed to be tiny and are meant to be picked up and that like, has stressed me out my whole life and I think its made me feel conspicuous in so many ways. So conspicuous walking down the street, so conspicuous at a party, so conspicuous at school and that has caused a lot of damage over time, and I think it has made me quite angry. Rather than letting that anger out, that anger gets turned back on myself and I think it's such a defining part of how I've become the woman that I am today."


©Diana Patient


I challenge you to find a woman who, at one time in her life, has not been described as Too [INSERT BLANK].


Angry.

Emotional.

Sensitive.

Loud.

Bossy.


Ring a bell?


I had the privilege of participating in an incredible project by Diana Patient a while ago. Too Much of a Person chronicles the experiences of self-identifying women and non-binary people being told they were "too much" of something to dismiss or conform them to the current perception of how a woman should be.


You can hear my story here.

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Life Under Lockdown: Refugee Women’s Experiences

In the midst of the Covid-19 pandemic, social distancing, self-isolation, lockdown measures and border closures have become our ‘new normal’, but these measures do not impact us equally. I'm really pr

Who's a good boy?

In the lead up to this year's International Women's Day, a tag 10 women who inspire you and raise their voices action started doing the rounds on Twitter. I'm the first to roll my eyes at the performa

Defining the Patriarchy

This content originally appeared in Rogare Fundraising Think Tank Critical Fundraising Blog Terminology 101 as part of their Gender in Fundraising project. The Patriarchy Meaning: A social system in w

bottom of page